Tuesday, 9 May 2017

Perfect Remains by Helen Fields

Thanks to Helena Sheffield & Avon Books, I received a copy of this in exchange for an honest review......

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.  In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness.

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach was a Detective in France but why he left to come to Edinburgh we don't really know but he has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But in Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.

It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes but the real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.

WOW, WOW, WOW!!! What a novel Perfect Remians was, it was absolutely fantastic. The sociopath/kidnapper character was absolutely brilliant, very well written and cleverly constructed. They were everything you'd expect with a sociopath - cold, calculating, manipulating and has no regard for anyone's feelings or who they hurt on their path of destruction and I LOVED them, yes, weird I know.  At times, I could feel I was right there with the victims.  I will admit that I found parts of the story hard to read and in places it made my skin crawl but it definitely didn't disappoint. It was a spine-chilling , pulse pounding, heart thumping rollercoaster ride. I know that his book will stick in my memory longer than most because of the subject matter that was involved. I am really looking forward to Helen's next book, Perfect Prey already which will be released on July 27th, a couple of days before my birthday and I'm very excited to see whats next in store for DI Luc Callanach and the team. I'd definitely recommend it for fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

Perfect Remains is available in all good bookstores and on Kindle where it is currently FREE, yes I said FREE at the time of publication of this review but for a limited time only.

No comments :

Post a Comment